BAFTA Film Awards 2020: Sam Mendes' war drama '1917' wins Best Film; Joaquin Phoenix takes home yet another award for 'Joker'


The 2020 British Academy of Film and Televisions Film Awards (BAFTAs) took place on Sunday and it was a night full of glitz and glamour with the who's who of Hollywood and television coming together to celebrate the best in business. While the World War I drama 1917 led among the winners with six awards, including best film and best director for Sam Mendes, Joaquin Phoenix took home yet another award for his act in Joker. Shayna Markowitz also was honoured for her casting of Joker. On the other hand, Waad al-Kateab and Edward Watts were awarded with the Best Documentary award for For Sama.

Here's a full list of winners at BAFTAs 2020:

RECOMMENDED READ: BAFTA 2020: Joaquin Phoenix’s ‘Joker’ leads the pack with 11 nominations, ‘The Irishman’ and ‘Once Upon a Time in Hollywood’ score 10 each

Best film

WINNER: 1917
The Irishman
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best actress

Jessie Buckley – Wild Rose
Scarlett Johansson – Marriage Story
Saoirse Ronan – Little Women
Charlize Theron – Bombshell
WINNER: Renée Zellweger – Judy

Best actor

Leonardo DiCaprio, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Adam Driver, Marriage Story
Taron Egerton, Rocketman
WINNER: Joaquin Phoenix, Joker
Jonathan Pryce, The Two Popes

Best director

WINNER: 1917 – Sam Mendes
The Irishman – Martin Scorsese
Joker - Todd Phillips
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – Quentin Tarantino
Parasite – Bong Joon-ho

Best casting

Marriage Story
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
The Personal History of David Copperfield
The Two Popes

EE rising star award (voted for by the public)

Jack Lowden
Kaitlyn Dever
Kelvin Harrison Jr
WINNER: Micheal Ward

Best film not in the English language

The Farewell
For Sama
Pain and Glory
WINNER: Parasite
Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Best special visual effects

WINNER: 1917
Avengers: Endgame
The Irishman
The Lion King
Star Wars: the Rise of Skywalker

Best supporting actor

Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the Neighbourhood
Anthony Hopkins, The Two Popes
Al Pacino, The Irishman
Joe Pesci, The Irishman
WINNER: Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best original screenplay

Booksmart - Susanna Fogel, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins, Katie Silberman
Knives Out – Rian Johnson
Marriage Story – Noah Baumbach
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – Quentin Tarantino
WINNER: Parasite – Han Jin Won, Bong Joon-ho

Best documentary

American Factory
Apollo 11
Diego Maradona
WINNER: For Sama
The Great Hack

Outstanding debut by a British writer, director or producer

WINNER: Bait – Mark Jenkin (writer/director), Kate Byers, Linn Waite (producers)
For Sama – Waad Al-Kateab (director/producer), Edward Watts (director)
Maiden – Alex Holmes (director)
Only You – Harry Wootliff (writer/director)
Retablo – Álvaro Delgado Aparicio (writer/director)

Best adapted screenplay

The Irishman – Steven Zaillian
WINNER: Jojo Rabbit – Taika Waititi
Joker – Todd Phillips, Scott Silver
Little Women – Greta Gerwig
The Two Popes – Anthony McCarten

Best supporting actress

WINNER: Laura Dern, Marriage Story
Scarlett Johansson, Jojo Rabbit
Florence Pugh, Little Women
Margot Robbie, Bombshell
Margot Robbie, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best cinematography

WINNER: 1917
The Irishman
Le Mans ’66
The Lighthouse

Best editing

The Irishman
Jojo Rabbit
WINNER: Le Mans ’66
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best costume design

The Irishman
Jojo Rabbit
WINNER: Little Women
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best production design

WINNER: 1917
The Irishman
Jojo Rabbit
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best sound

WINNER: 1917
Le Mans ’66
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Best original score

Jojo Rabbit
Little Women
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Best British short film

WINNER: Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You’re a Girl)
The Trap

Best British short animation

WINNER: Grandad Was a Romantic
In Her Boots
The Magic Boat

Best makeup and hair

WINNER: Bombshell

Best animated film

Frozen II
A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon
Toy Story 4

Oustanding British film

WINNER: 1917
For Sama
Sorry We Missed You
The Two Popes

Outstanding British contribution to cinema

Andy Serkis

Bafta fellowship

Kathleen Kennedy