65th Filmfare Awards 2020: From Ranveer Singh-Alia Bhatt starrer Gully Boy to Hrithik Roshan's-Tiger Shroff's War, here are the winners of technical and short film awards


It won't be wrong to say Filmfare Awards hold a special place in Bollywood and is one of the most sought after events each year. With deserving films and celebrities getting recognition for their work, the awards conducted by the leading entertainment magazine is indeed iconic. Now, as the new year has arrived and its already February, which kickstarts the official awards season, the organisers of Filmfare Awards 2020 held its curtain raiser event on Sunday and also gave away technical awards in presence of the who's who of tinsel-town. The Filmfare Awards Curtain Raiser 2020 was hosted by the lovely Neha Dhupia in Mumbai. The main event will be held in Guwahati on February 15, 2020. Apart from the technical awards, ace fashion designer who is equally iconic as the awards function-Manish Malhotra was honoured with a trophy for completing three decades in Bollywood and for his achievements.

Speaking of the technical awards, Hrithik Roshan's-Tiger Shroff's action-thriller War took home awards for Best Action and VFX while Alia Bhatt's-Ranveer Singh's Gully Boy won trophies for Best Background Score, Production Design and Cinematography. Take a look at the complete list here:

Best Action Award: Paul Jennings, Oh Sea Young, Parvez Shaikh and Franz Spilhaus - War
Best Background Score: Karsh Kale And The Salvage Audio Collective - Gully Boy

A still from War

Recommended Read: Filmfare Awards South 2019: From Keerthy Suresh for 'Mahanati' to Ram Charan for 'Rangasthalam', South celebrities win big at the prestigious awards night
Best Production Design: Suzanne Caplan Merwanji - Gully Boy
Best Costume: Divvya Gambhir, Niddhi Gambhir - Sonchiriya
Best Choreography: Remo D'Souza - Kalank (Ghar More Pardesiya)

A still from Ghar More Pardesiya

Best Editing: Shivkumar V Panicker - Uri: The Surgical Strike
Best Cinematography: Jay Oza - Gully Boy
Best Sound Design: Bishwadeep Dipak Chatterjee and Nihar Ranjan Samal - Uri: The Surgical Strike
Best VFX: Sherry Bharda And Vishal Anand - YFX, War

A still from Uri: The Surgical Strike

Apart from technical awards for feature films, Filmfare honoured short films with a duration of 20 minutes. The winners in this segment were:

Best Short Film Fiction: Shazia Iqbal - Bebaak
Best Short Film Non-Fiction: Ananth Narayan Mahadevan - Village Of A Lesser God
Best Actor Male Short Film: Rajesh Sharma - Tindey
Best Actor Female Short Film: Sarah Hashmi - Bebaak
People's Choice Award for Best Short Film: Deshi

(Source: Times Of India)