Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences invites 395 new members for 2021, including Vidya Balan and Ekta Kapoor


On Thursday, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences released the list of 395 film industry personalities who've been invited to join the governing body behind the Oscars. The invitees, if they accept it, will have the right to vote at 94rd Academy Award. Hollywood actors like Robert Pattinson, Laverne Cox, Vanessa Kirby, Steven Yeun, and others have been invited. 

Vidya Balan, Ekta Kapoor and her mother Shobha Kapoor are the Indian personalities on the list. Vidya has been recognised for her act in Kahaani (2012) and Tumhari Sulu (2017). Ekta has been recognised for Once Upon a Time in Mumbaai (2010) and Dream Girl (2019). Shobha has been credited for producing films like The Dirty Picture (2011) and Udta Punjab (2016). 

Recommended Read: Alia Bhatt and Hrithik Roshan among 819 new members invited to Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for Class of 2020

According to an international publication, 8 people have been invited to join multiple branches of the Academy. They are Leslie Odom Jr, Florian Zeller, Shaka King, Alexander Nanau, Emerald Fennell, Lee Isaac Chung, Craig Brewer, and Kaouther Ben Hania.

The Class Of 2021 is comprised of 46% women, 39% underrepresented ethnic/racial communities and 53% international from 49 countries outside the United States. Of the 395 invitees, 89 are former Oscar nominees, including 25 winners.

(Source: Twitter/Variety)