Alia Bhatt and Hrithik Roshan among 819 new members invited to Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for Class of 2020


The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, a while ago, announced that the Oscars 2021 ceremony has been pushed ahead by two months due to the Coronavirus pandemic. It will now be held on April 25, 2021. While the audience has to wait for a couple of months to witness the biggest award ceremony, the Academy, on Tuesday, released the list of 819 invitees. Bollywood actor Hrithik Roshan and Alia Bhatt have been invited too. Joining them are casting director Nandini Shrikent, costume designer Neeta Lulla, documentary filmmakers Nishtha Jain and Amit Madheshiya, visual effects supervisors Vishal Anand and Sandeep Kamal and film score composer Nainita Desai. The invitees, if they accept it, will have the right to vote at 93rd Academy Award.

The list also includes actors like Ana De Armas, Brian Tyree Henry, Florence Pugh, Zendaya, John David Washington and several others. Directors like Lulu Wang, Ari Aster, Terence Davies and Matthew Vaughn are also invited. 


Recommended Read: Oscars 2021: 93rd Academy Awards postponed by two months due to Coronavirus pandemic, to be held on April 25

 Academy President David Rubin, in a statement, mentioned, "The Academy is delighted to welcome these distinguished fellow travellers in the motion picture arts and sciences. We have always embraced extraordinary talent that reflects the rich variety of our global film community, and never more so than now."

Informing about the class of 2020, the official website of the Academy claimed that it comprises '45% women, 36% underrepresented ethnic/racial communities and 49% international from 68 countries. There are 75 Oscar nominees, including 15 winners, and five recipients of Scientific and Technical Awards'. The privilege of voting is an addition this year. "Additionally, the membership status of all Artists’ Representatives (agents) will change from Associates to Members-at-Large. As Members-at-Large, agents will now have Oscars voting privileges," the Academy mentioned in their statement. 

(Source: Twitter)