SWA Awards 2020: 'Article 15', 'Delhi Crime' and 'Taarak Mehta Ka Ooltah Chashmah' win big


The first ever SWA Awards 2020, organized by the Screenwriters Association, to felicitate screenwriters and lyricists was held yesterday and was a thundering success. Hosted by actors Varun Badola and Rajeshwari Sachdeva, the event focused mainly on the writers – with the jury members who are eminent screenwriters, directors and show creators themselves announcing the winners among almost 90 nominees in 15 categories in Feature Films, TV Shows, Web Series and Lyrics.

The evening exuded a lot of charm and a celebratory tone with several performers – writer, producer and director Aatish Kapadia doing a comedy sketch on how the world generally behaves with writers. Writer and stand-up comic Varun Grover took potshots at the Hindi film and television industry on the bizarre writing inputs and notes that screenwriters often receive; Poets and lyricists Shellee and Hussain Haidry did a lyrical jugalbandi on the hardships and joys of being a writer. The evening concluded with a soulful performance of two songs by singer Rekha Bhardwaj and screenwriter, filmmaker and composer Vishal Bhardwaj.

Recommended Read: Emmy Awards 2020: Zendaya becomes the youngest actress at 24 to win Outstanding Drama Actress award, says 'weird time to be celebrating'

The first-ever SWA Awards 2020 was held online and the buzz was palpable as the jury panels announced the awards in various categories.


The jury comprising of Anand Mahendroo, Ajai Sinha, Kamlesh Pandey, LiliputFaruqui, Manjul Sinha, PurnenduShekhar and Sanjay Upadhyay announced the winners in the TV shows categories:

TV Comedy- Best Story: Nitin Keswani for Taarak Mehta Ka Ooltah Chashmah
TV Comedy- Best Dialogues: Bhavna Vyas for Baavle Utaavle
TV Comedy- Best Screenplay: Aatish Kapadia for Bhakharwadi
TV Drama- Best Story: No Award
TV Drama- Best Dialogues: Preeti Mamgain for Mere Dad Ki Dulhan
TV Drama- Best Screenplay: Kartick Sitaraman for Mere Dad Ki Dulhan


The jury comprising of Ruchi Narain, Suhail Tatari and Sweksha Bhagat for Web Original Drama; Juhi Shekhar, Reshu Nath and Shiv Subrahmanyam for Web Original Comedy; and Anuraadha Tewari, Anuya Jakatdar and Ketki Pandit for Web Adaptation announced the winners in the Web Series categories:

Web Series- Best Original Drama: Richie Mehta and Sanyuktha Chawla Shaikh for Delhi Crime
Web Series-Best Original Comedy: DevikaBhagat and IshitaMoitra for Four More Shots Please!
Web Series- Best Adaptation: Dhruv Narang, NihitBhave, Pooja Tolani and Varun Grover for Sacred Games - Season2


The jury comprising of Amit Khanna, Ila Arun, Kausar Munir, Mayur Puriand Panchhi Jalonvi announced the winners in the Lyrics categories:

TV/Web- Best Lyrics: Zama Habib for the song EkChup Tum, EkChup Main from the show Ishaaron Ishaaron Mein
Feature Films-Best Lyrics: Manoj Muntashir for the song Teri Mitti from the film Kesari


The jury comprising of Apurva Asrani, Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari and Leena Yadav announced the winner in the Best Gender Sensitive Script category:

Best Gender Sensitive Script: Ivan Ayr and Kislay for Soni

The jury comprising of Ashok Mishra, Atul Tiwari, Juhi Chaturvedi, Saket Chaudhary, Urmi Juvekar, Vijay Krishna Acharya and Vinay Shukla announced the winners in the Feature Films categories:

Feature Films- Best Debut Writer: Ivan Ayr and Kislay for Soni
Feature Films- Best Dialogues: Vijay Maurya for Gully Boy
Feature Films- Best Story: Anubhav Sinha and Gaurav Solanki for Article 15
Feature Films- Best Screenplay: Anubhav Sinha & Gaurav Solanki for Article 15