Film Industry celebrates as government reduces the rate of GST on film tickets, expresses gratitude for swift action


Producers Guild of India has hailed the decision of the Indian government to reduce GST on film tickets. The Guild issued a statement in which it thanked the government for taking such a “progressive step” that will help the industry “move forward positively.” They expressed joy with the reduction of GST on film tickets, exceeding Rs 100 to 18 percent from 28 percent and up to Rs 100 to 12 percent from 18 percent.

Siddharth Roy Kapur, President of the Producers Guild of India issued thanked the government for such a momentous decision. Several celebrities like Karan Johar, Akshay Kumar, Ajay Devgn, Ritesh Sidhwani, Akshay Rathi, Bhushan Kumar all hailed the decision and applauded Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

RECOMMENDED READ: Karan Johar thanks PM Narendra Modi for meeting a delegation from the film industry

Kapur said in a statement, “On behalf of the Indian film industry, I would like to thank the government for taking this progressive step. This will help the industry move forward positively with increased investments in both exhibition infrastructure and creative development, enabling even better cinema and greater screen density across the country. We look forward to continuing to engage with the government on initiatives that will help to unleash the full potential of the film industry. Cinema can be a significant instrument of Indian soft power around the world while continuing to act as a uniting force for all Indians - a role it has played for more than a century.”

Only a few days back PM Narendra Modi had a meeting with notable names from the film industry and the decision came out promptly. Check out the tweets of some of the celebrities.

The Prime Minister had met a delegation from the film industry on December 17, where the latter had pitched for lower and uniform rates of GST for the fraternity and the PM took hardly took time to mull over the decision. Now, if that isn’t fast we don’t know what is!