LIVE UPDATES: 65th National Film Awards announcement


Best Male Playback Singer

The award goes to K.J Yesudas for his song "Poy Maranja Kalam" in  the movie Viswasapoorvam Mansoor.

Best Children's Film

The film Mhorkya directed by Amar Bharat Deokar wins the award for Best Children's Film .

Best Direction

Filmmaker Jayaraj gets the award for his Malayalam film Bhayanakam.

Best Child Artist

Banita Das wins the award for the Assamese film Village Rockstars.

Best Debut Film of a director

The award goes to director Pampally for the movie Sinjar.

Best Actor

Riddhi Sen receives the Best Actor award for Bengali film Nagarkirtan.

Best Popular Film providing wholesome entertainment

The award has been given to SS Rajamouli's Baahubali: The Conclusion.

Best Film

The award goes to Assamese film Village Rockstars.

Nargis Dutt Award for Best Film on National Integration 

Marathi film Dhappa wins the Nargis Dutt Award for Best Film on National Integration

Dadasaheb Phalke Award

Late actor Vinod Khanna has been awarded with the prestigious Dadasaheb Phalke Award.

Best Actor (Female)

Sridevi gets the Best Actor (Female) award for the movie MOM.

Best Supporting Actor (Female)

Divya Dutta has been awarded the Best Supporting Actor (Female) award for the movie Irada.

Best Supporting Actor

Actor Fahad Fazil gets the Best Supporting Actor award for the movie Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum.

Best Female Playback Singer

The award goes to  Shashaa Tirupati for her song "Vaan" in the movie Kaatru Veliyidai.

Best Lyrics

J M Prahalad gets an award for Best Lyrics for the song Muthuratna.

Best Cinematography

Malayalam film Bhayanakam has also been given the award for Best Cinematography.

Best Adapted Screenplay

The Best Adapted Screenplay has been given to Malayalam film Bhayanakam.

Best Original Screenplay

The award for the Best Original Screenplay goes to Malayalam film Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum.

Best Actress for Hindi Movie
Sridevi awarded as Best Actress for Hindi Movie Mom at 65th National Film Awards 2018
Besi Audiography

The award for the Best Audiography has been given to the Assamese film Village Rockstars.

Best Sound Design and Best Recordist

The award goes to Ladakhi film Walking with the Wind.

Best Production Design

The award for the Best Production Design has been given to Malayalam film Take Off.

Best Makeup artist

The award has been given to Bengali film Nagar Kirtan.

Best Background Score

A R Rahman gets the Best Background Score award for MOM.

Best Music Direction

Mani Ratnam's Kaatru Veliyidai receives the award for Best Music Direction. Noted music composer A.R. Rahman has composed the music for the movie.

Best Special Effects

Prabhas and Rana Daggubati's magnum opus Baahubali: The Conclusion has been given the award for Best Special Effects.

Best Choreography

The award for the best choreography goes to Ganesh Acharya for Toilet Ek Prem Katha's song  "Gori Tu Latth Maar".

Best Hindi Feature Film
'Newton' declared best Hindi feature film at the 65th
Best Action Direction

S. S. Rajamouli's Baahubali: The Conclusion has been given the award for Best Action Direction.

Best Tamil film

The Best Tamil Film award goes to To-Let.

Best Assamese Film

The award goes to Ishu.

Best Telugu film

The Ghazi Attack starring Rana Daggubati gets the Best Telugu film award.

Best Bengali Film

Best Bengali Film award goes to Mayurakshi.

Shekhar Kapur strongly recommends that Mayurakshi goes to Cannes Film Festival.

Best Hindi Film

Amit V Masurkar directorial Newton starring Rajkummar Rao and Pankaj Tripathi gets the Best Hindi Film award.

Best Kannada film

The award goes to Hebbettu Ramakka.

Best Tulu film

Paddayi is the Best Tullu Film.

Best Ladkhi film

The award goes to Walking With The Wind.

Best Malayalam film

The award for Best Malayalam film has been given to Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum.

Best Marathi film

Kaccha Limbu gets the award for Best Marathi Film.

Best Oriya film

Hello Aarsi gets the Best Oriya Film award.

Best Film in Jasari

The award goes to Sinjar.

Special Mention Awards

Marathi film - Morkiya, Oriya film - Hella Aarsi and  Malayalam film- Take Off got the Special Mention Awards. Commenting on Hello Aarsi, Shekhar Kapur said, "If I try to make that film I will fail." Pankaj Tripathi got a special mention for his performance in Newton.

Best Short Film (Fiction)

Marathi film Mayyat has been adjudged the Best Short Film in the fiction category.

Best Film on Social Issues

I am Bonnie and Whale Done share the Best Film on Social Issues award

Filmmaker Shekhar Kapur announces the awards

Before announcing the awards, filmmaker Shekhar Kapur appreciates the regional cinema being made in the country. He said, "I didn't know there are movies made in Assam that make it to Cannes."

Best Film of Art and Culture

Girija: A life of music has won the Best Film of Art and Culture at the 65th National Film Awards.

Best Animation Film

The Best Animation Film award has been given to The Fish Curry and Tokri: The Basket.

Best Director

The best director award goes to Nagraj Manjule.

Special Jury Award

The special jury award has been given to A Very Old Man With Enormous Wings.

Best Educational Film

The 65th National Film Award for the Best Educational Film goes to The Girls We Were and The Women We Are.

Best Non Feature Film

Water Baby has been adjudged as the Best Non-Feature Film this year.