Lakme Fashion Week 2020: Fashion unlocked … it’s the LFW opener with Manish Malhotra's 'Ruhaaniyat'

By  
on  

The cinema houses may not be open in Mumbai as yet, but what you witnessed was a fashion film as celebrated couturier Manish Malhotra presented his ‘Ruhaaniyat’ collection at the opening show of the delightfully digital Lakmé Fashion Week 2020. It was a trendy tribute to artisans and craftsmen of India, celebrating 10 years of the designer’s association with the Mijwan Foundation. Drawing inspiration from Punjab, Awadh and Kutch, the amazing archival fabrics were further highlighted with borders that glittered in zari woven with gold and silver. Classic textiles were hand-basted and hand-quilted with muted hues of teal, pistachio green, dusky pink, grey, maroon, black and white.

Swirling across your phone or laptop screen were male and female models in layered ensembles that took your breath away. The fabric choice was pure cotton and silk, lavish Mashru, velvet and muslin. On view were traditional kurtas, khada dupattas, ghararas and izar salwars for women and grand Jama angarkhas and heavy shawls for men.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

#Ruhaaniyat: A soul filled experience which brings together an amalgamation of emotions that celebrates our heritage, our artisans, the ones who have treasured and preserved our craft for generations to come. This collection is to honor them. Bringing the Nazaakat of Awadh and the vibrance of Punjab, this is Ruhaaniyat, a celebration called life. A couture film by #ManishMalhotraWorld @manishmalhotra05 for the #openingshow @lakmefashionwk @mwsyouth Special Thanks: Kartik Aaryan (@kartikaaryan) Production: Manish Malhotra Productions (@manishmalhotraworld) Videography & Editing: The Orange Booth (@theorangebooth) Music Courtesy: Jasleen Aulakh (@jasleenaulakhofficial), Polly Saghera (@pollysaghera) & Aman Nath (@amannath05) Beauty Elements: Manish Malhotra Beauty (@manishmalhotrabeauty) Jewels: Manish Malhotra Jewellery by Ranniwala 1881 (@manishmalhotrajewellery) Hair & Make-up: for Kartik Aaryan - Milan Thapa (@milankepchaki) & Yugendra Salvi  Hair & Make-up: Marce Pedrozo & Team (@marcepedrozo), Nikita Thadani (@nikitathadani9), Humera Shaikh (@humera_shaikh19) Choreography: Lubna Adams (@lubna.adam) Backstage & Model Management: Nupur Sagar (@nupursagar) Models:  Anita Kumar (@anitakumar05) Ayesha Kanga (@ayeshakanga) Candice Pinto (@ninjapinto) Deepti Gujral (@deeptigujral) Iris Maity (@irismaity7) Kavita Kharayat (@kavitakharayatk) Medha Rana (@medhaarana) Reha Sukheja (@rehasukheja) Subiksha Shivakumar (@subikshashivakumar) Anuj Singh Duhan (@anujsinghduhan) Kian (@kiankaiken)  Lakshya Singh Lathar (@lakshlathar) Piyush Walia (@piyushahluwalia1010) Robbie Mairh (@robbiejmairh) Sunny Kamble (@sunnykamble) #ManishMalhotra #ManishMalhotraLabel #ManishMalhotraWorld #ManishMalhotraCoutureFilm #KartikAaryan #Awadh #Punjab #MadeInIndia #IndianCrafts #LakmeFashionWeek #5DaysOfFashion #SpotlightAtLFW #SpotlightReady #lfw2020

A post shared by Manish Malhotra (@manishmalhotra05) on

Recommended Read: Lakme Fashion Week 2020: Manish Malhotra’s curtain raiser show ‘Ruhaaniyat’ pays ode to the old-world regalia ft. digital showstopper Kartik Aaryan!

Adding to the attractiveness of it all was the Manish Malhotra jewellery line that reflected the art and designs of Punjab and Awadh, in pure gold with flat cut diamonds, Russian and Zambian emeralds and pearls. And adorning the head of the models were passas, maangtikkas and maathapattis. Encircling the necks were classy chokers, haars, two and three-tiered necklaces, as well as studs and Sahara earrings. Ornaments for the hand included haathphools kadas, rings and stackable bangles that twinkled on the wrist.

And making his presence felt was actor Kartik Aaryan, the muse of Manish Malhotra.

Recommended

Share