Lakme Fashion Week 2020: Manish Malhotra’s curtain raiser show ‘Ruhaaniyat’ pays ode to the old-world regalia ft. digital showstopper Kartik Aaryan!

By  
on  

Replacing front row seats with virtual settings, the five-day fashion soiree at the first-ever digital and season fluid Lakme Fashion Week 2020 is about to begin from tomorrow, October 21 to 25, 2020 and we couldn’t be more ecstatic. Making for a banger curtain-raiser, Manish Malhotra unveiled his collection taking a leaflet out of the bygone era.

Titled ‘Ruhaaniyat’, the collection was a tribute to our diverse heritage and soulful artistry of the Indian craftsmen from the eras gone by. Taking inspiration from the vibrance of Punjab and nazakat of Awadh, this collection interprets the majesty of old-world regalia with a modern touch. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

#Ruhaaniyat: A soul filled experience which brings together an amalgamation of emotions that celebrates our heritage, our artisans, the ones who have treasured and preserved our craft for generations to come. This collection is to honor them. Bringing the Nazaakat of Awadh and the vibrance of Punjab, this is Ruhaaniyat, a celebration called life. A couture film by Manish Malhotra Productions @manishmalhotra05 @mwsyouth @lakmefashionwk Special Thanks: Kartik Aaryan (@kartikaaryan) Production: Manish Malhotra Productions (@manishmalhotraworld) Videography & Editing: The Orange Booth (@theorangebooth) Music Courtesy: Jasleen Aulakh (@jasleenaulakhofficial), Polly Saghera (@pollysaghera) & Aman Nath (@amannath05) Beauty Elements: Manish Malhotra Beauty (@manishmalhotrabeauty) Jewels: Manish Malhotra Jewellery by Ranniwala 1881 (@manishmalhotrajewellery) Hair & Make-up: for Kartik Aaryan - Milan Thapa (@milankepchaki) & Yugendra Salvi Hair & Make-up: Marce Pedrozo & Team (@marcepedrozo), Nikita Thadani (@nikitathadani9), Humera Shaikh (@humera_shaikh19) Choreography: Lubna Adams (@lubna.adam) Backstage & Model Management: Nupur Sagar (@nupursagar) Models: Anita Kumar (@anitakumar05) Ayesha Kanga (@ayeshakanga) Candice Pinto (@ninjapinto) Deepti Gujral (@deeptigujral) Iris Maity (@irismaity7) Kavita Kharayat (@kavitakharayatk) Medha Rana (@medhaarana) Reha Sukheja (@rehasukheja) Subiksha Shivakumar (@subikshashivakumar) Anuj Singh Duhan (@anujsinghduhan) Kian (@kiankaiken) Lakshya Singh Lathar (@lakshlathar) Piyush Walia (@piyushahluwalia1010) Robbie Mairh (@robbiejmairh) Sunny Kamble (@sunnykamble) #ManishMalhotra #ManishMalhotraLabel #ManishMalhotraWorld #ManishMalhotraCoutureFilm #KartikAaryan #Awadh #Punjab #MadeInIndia #IndianCrafts #LakmeFashionWeek #5DaysOfFashion #SpotlightAtLFW #SpotlightReady #lfw2020

A post shared by Manish Malhotra (@manishmalhotra05) on

 

 Recommended Read: Lakmé Fashion Week 2020 and Manish Malhotra join forces to support artisans with the curtain raiser show Ruhaaniyat’

 

The collection comprised of kalidar kurtas, khada dupattas, ghararas, and izar salwars for women and jama angrakha and heavy shawls for men in pure and cotton silks, mashru, velvets, and muslins in variant shade card ranging from soothing pastels to rich jewel tones.

Eye-popping matha-patti, to layers of raani haar, this showcase also featured Manish’s jewellery collection that stuck the right balance with the outfits’ vibrance and opulence.

 

Kartik Aaryan made for a dapper showstopper in an embellished sherwani high on zardosi work and intricate detailing, that exuded royalty.


 

A perfect start to the digital sartorial show. Can't wait for what's more in store, what about you?

Recommended

Share