Congratulations! Smriti Mandhana named ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year for 2021


India’s swashbuckling opener Smriti Mandhana has been named as the ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year today for her incredible on-field performance across all formats in 2021. The ICC said in a statement that Mandhana was short-listed for the top award- the Rachel Heyhoe Flint Trophy- along with Tammy Beaumont of England, Lizelle Lee of South Africa and Gaby Lewis of Ireland.

The ICC’s social media handle announced the coveted honour with the words, “A year to remember Smriti Mandhana's quality at the top of the order was on full display in 2021.”

RECOMMENDED READ: Virat Kohli steps down as Test captain, issues statement thanking MS Dhoni, Ravi Shastri and BCCI

Mandhana played a major role in the limited-overs series against South Africa where India won just two of the eight matches at home. Mandhana was instrumental in both these wins, she made 80 not out as India chased down 158 in the second ODI that helped them level the series and scored 48 not out in the win in the final T20I. She also raked up 78 runs in the first innings of the one-off Test against England that ended in a draw. She played an important knock of 49 in India's only win in the ODI series.

Jhulan Goswami, who won the same award in 2007, is the only other Indian woman to ever win an ICC annual award.

(Source: Twitter)