Critics Choice Film Awards 2020: Ranveer Singh sweeps away the Best Actor trophy for 'Gully Boy'; Geetika Vidya takes home the Best Actress award for 'Soni'


The rapidly spreading Coronavirus has brought the world to a standstill. With shoots and events cancelled, B-Town is home practicing self-isolation. Now, as the Prime Minister of India, Mr. Narendra Modi, as well as Maharashtra's Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, announced a complete lockdown till April 14, it is advised that people stay home. Amidst this, the Critics' Choice Film Awards which was scheduled to take place on March 14, was cancelled and the winners were announced yesterday. The team of Critics Choice Film Awards then decided to announce the winners digitally.

In the Hindi category of Critics Choice Film Awards, Ranveer Singh won the Best Actor Male for Gully Boy while Zoya Akhtar bagged the trophy for Best Director. Geetika Vidya won Best Actress Female for Soni. Anubhav Sinha and Gaurav Solanki took home the Best Writing award for Ayushmann Khurrana starrer Article 15. Along with Hindi, regional language films like Jersey (Telugu), Super Deluxe (Tamil), Uyare (Malayalam), Kedara (Bengali), Hellaro (Gujarati), Bell Bottom (Kannada) and Dhappa (Marathi) won big.


Best Actor Male- Ranveer Singh (Gully Boy)

Best Actor Female- Geetika Vidya Ohlyan (Soni)

Best Director- Zoya Akhtar (Gully Boy)

Best Film- Gully Boy

Best Writing- Anubhav Sinha and Gaurav Solanki (Article 15)


Recommended Read: Amruta Subhash overwhelmed on receiving late Smita Patil's dupatta on winning Filmfare 2020 Best Supporting Actor (Female) for Gully Boy


Best Actor Male- Nani (Jersey)

Best Actor Female- Samantha Akkineni (Oh! Baby)

Best Director- Gowtam Tinnanuri (Jersey)

Best Film- Mallesham

Best Writing- Vivek Athreya (Brochevarevarura)



Best Actor Male- Vijay Sethupathi (Super Deluxe)

Best Actor Female- Amala Paul (Aadai)

Best Director- Thiagarajan Kumararaja (Super Deluxe)

Best Film- Super Deluxe

Best Writing- Thiagarajan Kumararaja, Nalan Kumaraswamy, Mysskin, Neelan K Sekar (Super Deluxe)


Best Actor Male- Kaushik Ganguly (Kedara)

Best Actor Female- Swastika Mukherjee (Kia and Cosmos)

Best Director- Atanu Ghosh (Robibaar)

Best Film- Kedara

Best Writing- Atanu Ghosh (Robibaar)


Best Actor Male- Jayesh More (Hellaro)

Best Actor Female- Deeksha Joshi (Dhunki)

Best Director- Abhishek Shah (Hellaro)

Best Film- Hellaro

Best Writing- Abhishek Shah, Prateek Gupta, Saumya Joshi (Hellaro)



Best Actor Male- Rishi (Kavaludaari)

Best Actor Female- B. Jayashree (Mookajjiya Kanasugalu)

Best Director- Jayathirtha (Bell Bottom)

Best Film- Bell Bottom

Best Writing- Dayananda T K (Bell Bottom)


Best Actor Male- Mammootty (Unda)

Best Actor Female- Parvathy (Uyare)

Best Director- Aashiq Abu (Virus)

Best Film- Kumbalangi Nights

Best Writing- Syam Pushkaran (Kumbalangi Nights)


Best Actor Male- Sandeep Kulkarni (Dombivali Return)

Best Actor Female- Mrinal Kulkarni (Welcome Home)

Best Director- Nipun Dharmadhikari (Dhappa)

Best Film- Dhappa

Best Writing- Sumitra Bhave (Welcome Home)

(Source: Inputs from IANS/Instagram)