Ayushmann Khurrana to reunite with 'Article 15' director Anubhav Sinha for a 'highly-political drama' titled 'Anek'?


It won't be wrong to say that Ayushmann Khurrana, in the last few years, has carved a niche for himself in Bollywood. A brand in himself, the actor is undoubtedly a first choice of filmmakers for content-driven films. With a National Award to his merit, Ayushmann is rightly associating himself with ventures that provide wholesome entertainment while giving out important messages like his recently released Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan. The film talks about gay love and makes an effort to start the conversation. 

Now, as Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan is in theatres, Ayushmann, according to reports, has signed Anubhav Sinha's next film, reportedly titled Anek. Ayushmann and Anubhav delivered a critically and commercially successful film Article 15 in 2019. Like Article 15, Anek will be a 'highly political drama'. Anek will go on floors in April, if the report is to be believed. An official confirmation on the same is awaited.

Recommended Read: Ayushmann Khurrana reacts to US President Donald Trump's take on 'Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan', says 'want to see him work towards LGBTQ rights'

Talking about Article 15, it landed into troubled waters a number of times for its political content. The film revolved around the murder and rape of two young girls in rural Uttar Pradesh. Ayushmann played the role of the investigation officer who digs deep into cultural and caste conflicts.

Workwise, Anubhav is gearing up for the release of Taapsee Pannu's Thappad. The film apart from Taapsee stars Pavail Gulati, stars Dia Mirza, Ratna Pathak Shah, Tanvi Azmi, Geetika Vidya, Maya Sarao, Naila Grewal, Kumud Mishra and Gracy Goswami. Thappad is produced by Bhushan Kumar's T-Series along with Anubhav and Benaras Mediaworks. It is scheduled to release on February 28, 2020. On the other hand, Ayushmann's Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan is directed by Hitesh Kewalya and produced by Aanand L Rai and also stars Jitendra Kumar, Neena Gupta, Gajraj Rao, Pankhuri Awasthy, Manurishi Chadha, Sunita Rajwar, Maanvi Gagroo and Neeraj Singh. It released on February 21, 2020.

(Source: Rajeev Masand)