Filmfare releases Critics’ Award nominations, Rajkummar leads the pack!


So much for the 'Black Lady' to handle in a span of a day, literally! The nominations for the 63rd Jio Filmfare Awards 2018 Critics' came out a day after the popular nomination list created a huge hue and cry on Twitter. Much to the disappointment of Bollywood aficionados, underrated gems like Rajkummar Rao in Newton or Konkana Sen Sharma's A Death in The Gunj starring Vikrant Massey failed to make the cut earlier. But in the Critics’ Award nominations, they succeeded in grabbing a spot! Surprisingly enough, the Critics' choice list rarely makes way online before the awards are given out, however, in this case, Filmfare was left with no choice to save the day, nominate the truly deserving candidates and come out with an updated list.

What made Filmfare Awards 2018 nominations the butt of netizen's joke was picking the likes of Varun Dhawan (for Badrinath Ki Dulhania) and Hrithik Roshan (for Kaabil) over the other deserving candidates. Sadly, performers like Swara Bhaskar (for Anaarkali Of Arah) were still not deemed fit by the nation's oldest and prestigious award jury for a Popular Category Nomination and had to settle for the Critics' section.

Recommended Read: And the ‘Most Fair’ award…does not go to Filmfare!

However, with this U-Turn, let's hope Filmfare is able to amend what it screwed. After all, the nation's beloved-most awards hold high expectations from all quarters, and the nomination process speaks volumes how it recognizes the quality cinema in the industry.

Better late than never...

Critics’ Award for Best Film

A Death In The Gunj – Konkona Sen Sharma
Lipstick Under My Burkha – Alankrita Srivastava
Mukti Bhawan – Shubhashish Bhutiani
Newton – Amit V Masurkar
Trapped – Vikramaditya Motwane

Critics’ Award for Best Actor (Female)

Kangana Ranaut – Rangoon
Sridevi – Mom
Swara Bhaskar – Anaarkali Of Arah
Vidya Balan – Tumhari Sulu
Zaira Wasim – Secret Superstar

Critics’ Award for Best Actor (Male)

Irrfan Khan – Hindi Medium
Rajkummar Rao – Newton
Rajkummar Rao – Trapped
Ranbir Kapoor – Jagga Jasoos
Vikrant Massey – A Death in the Gunj

Do you think Filmfare's move is a cover-up for their earlier disappointing list or Twitterati and critics judged the awards and its selection a little too soon?

Share your unbiased comments below!